Saturday, July 27, 2013

Minutes of the BWG July Meeting

Bayou Writers Group
Carnegie Library,   Lake Charles LA  70601
Regular meeting – July 6, 2013
10:00 am –Noon
President Chris Baldauf called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. and welcomed visitors.
She reported on the board of directors meeting held earlier. She said "The Board" approved replacement officers in accordance with the bylaw provision for filling unexpired terms. They are Chris Baldauf, president; Michele Abshire, vice president; Cliff Seiber, secretary; and Pat Fox and Joyce Kebodeaux, publicists.
Sherry Perkins has been appointed annual conference coordinator.
The president said the group received five tickets in the Arts and Humanities Council’s raffle in exchange for the group’s $250 dues payment. The BWG board of directors agreed to distribute the tickets in a door prize drawing at the current membership meeting. The drawing was held and winners of the tickets were Chris Baldauf, ticket No. 527; Rebecca Stelly, 526; Pat Fox ,528; Sylvia Ney, 524, and Mike McHugh, 525 .
A drawing was held for donated books.
The president introduced the guest speaker, Dr. William Sutton, retired history professor and coauthor of “Herman Frasch the Sulphur King,” a biography of the man responsible for developing the sulphur mines at Sulphur, La.
The meeting was adjourned shortly after noon with the announcement that everyone was invited to dutch-treat lunch at Ryan’s.
Submitted by Cliff Seiber, secretary. Please notify the secretary with any corrections or additions to the minutes.

No comments:

Post a Comment